The UK Government has added new countries to its green list, as part of a safe and cautious reopening to international travel. From 30 August 2021, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Switzerland, and the Azores will be added to the green list and travellers arriving from these countries will no longer have to quarantine regardless of whether they are fully vaccinated or not. However, they will still need to take pre-departure and day 2 tests and complete a passenger locator form. Thailand and Montenegro will be added to the red list, reflecting the increased infection rates and the higher risk that travel from these countries poses to UK public health. Passengers arriving in the UK from these red list destinations will need to be isolated for 10 days in a managed quarantine facility and follow the necessary testing requirements.

The UK government uses a traffic light system for categorising countries based on their risk levels. The UK’s traffic light system lists countries into three categories - red, amber and green. The segregation is done based on “the risk posed by individual countries and territories”. The UK says each country is “continuously monitored”, and the lists are reviewed every three weeks.